Close

The AAII Denver Chapter presents...


"ETFs: A Trillion-Dollar Asset Class for Your Use"

    Discussed by:

    Paul Townsend
    Associate Vice President, Wells Fargo Advisors

The world of exchange-traded funds (ETFs) has expanded to over 1,100 individual offerings with more than $1 trillion in assets. Newer types of ETFs include exchange-traded notes (ETNs) as well as leveraged and reverse portfolios—and instruments representing not only stock and bond indexes but also currencies and commodities. At the more traditional end of the ETF spectrum are such basic index portfolios as SPY for the S&P 500. ETFs can be used for investment and trading, and one can buy as well as sell short. Many have listed options available. Learn the ins and outs of ETFs, including issues such as liquidity and tracking. Paul Townsend will update us on the huge growth of ETFs and discuss the ETF strategies he uses in managing client accounts. A major point of emphasis will be his discipline rules designed to cut losses and let gains run. Assets in (low-cost) ETFs have been expanding in recent years, while traditional mutual funds have seen money flowing out even while the market has risen 90% from its March 2009 lows. Why not bring a friend or relative to show them AAII’s benefits by attending this important event?

  MEETING DETAILS
Date:
Wednesday, April 25, 2012
Time:
6:20 – 7:00 p.m.    Registration/Social
7:00 – 8:45 p.m.    Program
during presentation    Q&A
Location:
Koelbel Library
5955 South Holly St.
Southwest corner of Holly & Orchard, one mile west of I-25 on Orchard
Centennial, CO
[ Map This Location ]
Payment:
In Advance (registrations must be POSTMARKED by 4/18 to
qualify for $8 and $13 rate)
AAII Member & Member’s Family, $8/person; Nonmembers,
$13/person; Late, $15/person
At the Door
(space permitting)
Everyone, $15/person

  SUBGROUPS

Subgroups

Full calendar always updated at www.AAIIDenverChapter.org

Book Discussion Group—Ken Van Pala, mkvanpala@msn.com

Monday Breakfast Group—Horace Martin, HVMartin@comcast.net
7 AM, 2nd Mondays.

Tuesday Breakfast Group— Nettie McGrath, NLDM526@Q.com, 303/237-2154
1st Tuesdays.

Trading & Technical Analysis Group—Warren Cramer, CramerW@comcast.net

Northern CO Trading & Technical Analysis Group—James Koerlin, James.Koerlin@SunMed.com

Boulder Group—Barry Copeland, Barry2467@comcast.net, 303/828-0950 or Clint Heiple, ClintH.1@comcast.net, 720/562-8067
Dates, locations vary. See website listed above.

Colorado Springs Group—Doug Diederich, DDiederich@yahoo.com and Rod Schlater, Rod_Schlater@Comcast.net
7PM, 4th Tuesdays.
March 27: Kevin Walmsley, “More Income, Please!”
April 24: Paul Townsend, “Investing With ETFs and Point & Figure”
May 22: Joe Smith, “The Next Step, Advanced Options”
June 26: Don Cassidy, “Short Duration Options”
July 24: Rod Schlater and Larry Booth, “Developing Good Savings Habits”
August 28: Jim Poole, “Long-Range Economic Projections”
September 25: Jim Poole, “Financial Crisis of 2007–2008”
October 23: Larry Booth, “Investing Ideas from the Financial Planner’s Conference”

Estes Park Group—Joan Sapp, JSapp928@yahoo.com

Return to Denver Chapter home page