Denver Chapter Future Meetings
Mark Your Calendar!

There are no upcoming meetings for Denver at this time

The AAII Denver Chapter presents...


"Income Investing: A Way You’ve Probably Neglected"

    Discussed by:

    Ken Winans
    Author

Interest rates are at silly-low levels—and the Fed says to expect more of the same. Money funds and bank CDs earn less than zero after taxes and inflation. Where can investors get some decent yield without taking on huge quality or currency risk? No need for junk bonds or overseas debt. Consider preferred stocks. These securities, a corporate vehicle established and tested for well over a century, stand above the common stock but below bonds. Many investors are unfamiliar with this large investment arena, where yields can be quite attractive. Learn all about it: different types of preferreds and quasi-preferreds, terminology, and online information resources. Some, but not all, offer qualified (15% tax rate) dividends. Did you know that some REITs offer preferred stocks? Or that the IRS considers some preferreds’ “dividends” actually to be interest? Do you know that some exchange-traded and closed-end funds specialize in preferreds, for fast diversification? Come gather a wealth of expanded knowledge. And why not invite a friend to see what AAII has to offer?

  MEETING DETAILS
Date:
Monday, May 21, 2012
Time:
6:20 – 7:00 p.m.    Registration/Social
7:00 – 8:45 p.m.    Program
during presentation    Q&A
Location:
Clements Community Center
1580 Yarrow St.
1 block NW of Colfax & Wadsworth intersection, 4.5 miles W of downtown Denver
Lakewood, CO
[ Map This Location ]

Payment:
In Advance (postmarked by 5/14), AAII Member and Family,
$8/person; Nonmembers, $13/person; Late, $15/person
At the Door (space permitting–Advance Reg. recommended),
Everyone, $15/person
  SUBGROUPS

Subgroups

Full calendar always updated at www.AAIIDenverChapter.org

Book Discussion Group—Ken Van Pala, mkvanpala@msn.com

Monday Breakfast Group—Horace Martin, HVMartin@comcast.net
7 AM, 2nd Mondays.

Tuesday Breakfast Group— Nettie McGrath, NLDM526@Q.com, 303/237-2154
1st Tuesdays.

Trading & Technical Analysis Group—Warren Cramer, CramerW@comcast.net

Northern CO Trading & Technical Analysis Group—James Koerlin, James.Koerlin@SunMed.com

Boulder Group—Barry Copeland, Barry2467@comcast.net, 303/828-0950 or Clint Heiple, ClintH.1@comcast.net, 720/562-8067
Dates, locations vary. See website listed above.

Colorado Springs Group—Doug Diederich, DDiederich@yahoo.com and Rod Schlater, Rod_Schlater@Comcast.net
7PM, 4th Tuesdays.
March 27: Kevin Walmsley, “More Income, Please!”
April 24: Paul Townsend, “Investing With ETFs and Point & Figure”
May 22: Joe Smith, “The Next Step, Advanced Options”
June 26: Don Cassidy, “Short Duration Options”
July 24: Rod Schlater and Larry Booth, “Developing Good Savings Habits”
August 28: Jim Poole, “Long-Range Economic Projections”
September 25: Jim Poole, “Financial Crisis of 2007–2008”
October 23: Larry Booth, “Investing Ideas from the Financial Planner’s Conference”

Estes Park Group—Joan Sapp, JSapp928@yahoo.com

Return to Denver Chapter home page